BVI Charter Reviews from satisfied customers

At Horizon, we aim to provide the best possible service available when you charter in the BVI. The latest Horizon Yacht Charters BVI reviews reflect this in spades.

Many larger charter companies cannot match the level of customer service and personal attention that you will receive from us at Horizon Yacht Charters. Meticulously maintained yachts, one-on-one boat and chart briefings by our friendly and knowledgeable staff ensure a great sailing vacation and good value for money too.

If you would like to share your experience please email us. Alternatively, our full list of contact details can be found online here.

Here’s a selection of what our valued customers have said about us in their latest Horizon Yacht charters BVI reviews:

March 2021, March 2021 — Fountaine Pajot 50 (2018) 'Katrina'

“This was our very first charter on a catamaran. It was well worth the wait! The crew was amazing! So hospitable and accommodating. Tim cooked the best meals. We especially loved the filet/mashed potatoes, pad thai and the yummy poke bowl.
This was the perfect setting to wind down and be with family. We were totally spoiled. Can’t say enough about Heather and Tim! We will be back!!

Bonnie

Sara and Darryl, May 2021 — Helia 44 Quatuor (2018) 'Altair'

Hello Horizon BVI team,

Just wanted to reach out and thank you again for everything! Although it was a little different this time around we made it through all the hoops and had an amazing time! We missed spending time person to person with you ladies in the office but all was handled in such an organized manner! Jalon and Henry were very helpful in meeting our last-minute requests! We will be back!! Take care and wishing for everyone around the world that we soon put this pandemic behind us and get back to normal! Keep the vaccinations going!

Until next time!

Kurt Prinslow, May 2021, BVI — Bavaria 34 (2017) 'Maverick'

We found the Horizon staff very helpful and courteous in preparation for our charter and during our charter. Especially when it came to manoeuvring through the BVI government’s testing regime. Courtney really helped out in arranging the Day 4 on Jost Van Dyke.

The same can be said of the people of the BVI’s as they embrace and encourage visitors back to the islands. A special “shout out” to the nurse at the Jost Van Dyke clinic and her help in processing our exit tests. Also, the constable/police officer on Jost Van Dyke was extremely patient and helpful when we turned in our government-issued tracking equipment.

We were glad we returned to the BVI’s and experienced the islands and people during this rare moment in history.

We will be in touch about a return charter to the BVI’s or other Horizon Yacht Charter bases

May 2021, May 2021 — Fountaine Pajot 50 (2018) 'Katrina'

6 days on Katrina was a bucket trip of a life time!! Captain Heather and Chef/First Mate Jessica quickly became our friends. We can’t stop talking about our trip to our friends and family. They file your lead…as much or as little activity as you like. From snorkeling with turtles at Maho to breath taking sunsets, we were totally captivated with the beauty of St. John. With Captain Heather’s knowledge of the area we were able to experience pieces of St. John unreachable by land. We can’t say enough about the food. In fact, we are showing more pictures of our meals than anything. We are totally blown away with the attention to detail and preparation to provision this trip prior to heading out. We ended our trip with a private concert by After Irma on the back of our boat, perfect ending to a trip of a lifetime. If you are considering a trip like this, Katrina is your destination!!

May 2021, May 2021 — Fountaine Pajot 50 (2018) 'Katrina'

Our trip on Katrina was an amazing experience. Captain Heather had wonderful recommendations of beautiful beaches, and customized our charter based on the what we wanted to do. We swam with sea turtles, saw beautiful beaches, stunning sunsets, and had an amazing afternoon with a band on our boat. The drinks and food from chef Jessica were unreal. We cancelled plans to go ashore for a dinner because any meal we could get would not compare to the food on the boat. If you are looking to charter a catamaran in the USVI/BVI, I cannot recommend Captain Heather, Chef Jessica, and the Katrina boat enough. It is an experience you will not forget.

May 2021, May 2021 — Fountaine Pajot 50 (2018) 'Katrina'

The Katrina is an amazing boat. Lots of room to gather and also to find quiet places for some alone time. Although Captin Heather and her crew are what made the trip an experience worth repeating year after year. From the beginning, she made our group feel safe secure, and at ease. The food was amazing. As foodies, we are always concerned about the level of the culinary experience. Let me tell you there is no need to worry onboard Katrina. After the first meal of fresh tuna marinated and grilled to perfection served with rice glazed carrots and the best Brussel sprouts, I have ever had. Every need was catered to and I feel they went above any beyond to make it a special occasion for our group. Can’t wait to come back next year!!!

Gabe

April 2021, April 2021 — Fountaine Pajot 50 (2018) 'Katrina'

Our family had a wonderful time with Heather and Jessica! What a week! We loved Jessica’s cooking, and thoroughly trusted our excellent Captain Heather. We enjoyed learning so much about the Islands, navigation, and sailing in the Caribbean. Our snorkeling experience was epic with Jessica taking amazing underwater photographs of all the sea creatures we found, with the highlight being an amazing octopus. Our kids loved water sports with Heather and I loved the daily yoga with Jessica! This all female crew was truly amazing and we’d recommend them to anyone who loves snorkeling, yoga, the ocean, great food and good people!

Warmly and with gratitude,
The Cohens
Allison, Josh, Julia, Stephen, and Camille.

March 2021, March 2021 — Fountaine Pajot 50 (2018) 'Katrina'

From Margaret
What a fantastic week aboard Katrina for our first trip to the USVI!! With Heather as our Captain and Derek as our chef, we were pampered and well taken care of! Many thanks for a week we will always cherish and remember.

Darrel Hearne, BVI, February 2021 — Nautitech Fly 46 (2022) 'Blue Water Nomad'

A while back, some friends and I got to spend a week onboard the good ship Luna, a 46’ Nautitech catamaran, one of the boats in the Horizon Yacht Charters fleet.  The experience was overwhelmingly positive, and I thought it fit to share my review of the boat, company and charter experience.

First, a bit about me – I have been operating charter vessels in the BVI for the past fifteen years, and spent several years working as a bareboat skipper – you hire a boat and you hire a captain.  Suffice to say that I have chartered a multitude of different boats in the BVI, from many different charter companies.

My week onboard Luna was slightly different; it was myself and some good friends, just vacationing, so not a working week for me.  Having been on board many bareboat charters in the past, my expectations were low.  Bareboats tend to get a bit beaten up and look a bit tatty early on, in my experience – the result of credit card captains not taking the proper care of them, or the management company trying to cut corners in the maintenance.  To say that I was pleasantly surprised is an understatement.  The boat was pristine.  Spotless inside and out, and none of the usual bareboat nicks and scratches I’ve come to expect.  Understand that I run a high-end luxury crewed charter yacht these days, so I have high standards.  I couldn’t find fault.  At all.  The cushions were immaculate.  The towels and bedding new and lacked the usual bareboat mystery stains.  The boat was impeccably maintained.

In addition, the boat was equipped way better than any other bareboat I have ever been on.  Properly stocked with a good assortment of pots and pans, plates, glasses, cutlery etc – enough to actually cook a real meal, should you so desire.  I’m used to a warped pan and maybe a broken spatula on board, but the owners of this boat had spared no expense and kitted her out properly.  Fridge and freezer space galore – way more than we needed for the week.  An ice maker on board, as well as (if you can believe it) a water maker.  Oh, the luxury of hot uninterrupted showers.  A/c was ice cold throughout.

Then I got to take her out and put her through her paces.  I’d never sailed a Nautitech before – this version is the 46’ flybridge, featuring powered roller-furling in-mast mainsail, with a self-tacking jib.  Fully rigged for solo sailing, this boat was an absolute joy to sail.  Every line runs straight to the flybridge helm station, and I single-handed the sailing side of things the whole week.  Easily.  The self-tacking jib was an absolute eye-opener.  Honestly, couldn’t be easier.  As for electronics and nav equipment, she has everything you could possibly want onboard.  Full disclosure here: she’s not a fast boat.  She’s built for comfort and ease of use.  The roller-furling main means no battens in the mainsail, and the self-tacking jib makes for a somewhat baggy bottom profile.  This is not the boat to take racing.  If you want to drift along in ease and comfort, though – I highly recommend it.

All in all, I give her a solid five-star rating, with two additional thumbs up.  Great boat.

As for my dealings with Horizon Charter Yachts, all I can say is that they were extremely professional and competent.  Definitely my best experience ever with a bareboat company.  Emails were quickly replied to, information was given clearly and their manner was friendly and courteous throughout.  Here again, I cannot find fault at all.

All in all, a great week on a great boat, from a great company.  My sincerest thanks.  We’ll be back for sure.

Darrel Hearne, BVI, February 2021 — Nautitech Fly 46 (2020) 'Luna'

A while back, some friends and I got to spend a week onboard the good ship Luna, a 46’ Nautitech catamaran, one of the boats in the Horizon Yacht Charters fleet.  The experience was overwhelmingly positive, and I thought it fit to share my review of the boat, company and charter experience.

First, a bit about me – I have been operating charter vessels in the BVI for the past fifteen years, and spent several years working as a bareboat skipper – you hire a boat and you hire a captain.  Suffice to say that I have chartered a multitude of different boats in the BVI, from many different charter companies.

My week onboard Luna was slightly different; it was myself and some good friends, just vacationing, so not a working week for me.  Having been on board many bareboat charters in the past, my expectations were low.  Bareboats tend to get a bit beaten up and look a bit tatty early on, in my experience – the result of credit card captains not taking the proper care of them, or the management company trying to cut corners in the maintenance.  To say that I was pleasantly surprised is an understatement.  The boat was pristine.  Spotless inside and out, and none of the usual bareboat nicks and scratches I’ve come to expect.  Understand that I run a high-end luxury crewed charter yacht these days, so I have high standards.  I couldn’t find fault.  At all.  The cushions were immaculate.  The towels and bedding new and lacked the usual bareboat mystery stains.  The boat was impeccably maintained.

In addition, the boat was equipped way better than any other bareboat I have ever been on.  Properly stocked with a good assortment of pots and pans, plates, glasses, cutlery etc – enough to actually cook a real meal, should you so desire.  I’m used to a warped pan and maybe a broken spatula on board, but the owners of this boat had spared no expense and kitted her out properly.  Fridge and freezer space galore – way more than we needed for the week.  An ice maker on board, as well as (if you can believe it) a water maker.  Oh, the luxury of hot uninterrupted showers.  A/c was ice cold throughout.

Then I got to take her out and put her through her paces.  I’d never sailed a Nautitech before – this version is the 46’ flybridge, featuring powered roller-furling in-mast mainsail, with a self-tacking jib.  Fully rigged for solo sailing, this boat was an absolute joy to sail.  Every line runs straight to the flybridge helm station, and I single-handed the sailing side of things the whole week.  Easily.  The self-tacking jib was an absolute eye-opener.  Honestly, couldn’t be easier.  As for electronics and nav equipment, she has everything you could possibly want onboard.  Full disclosure here: she’s not a fast boat.  She’s built for comfort and ease of use.  The roller-furling main means no battens in the mainsail, and the self-tacking jib makes for a somewhat baggy bottom profile.  This is not the boat to take racing.  If you want to drift along in ease and comfort, though – I highly recommend it.

All in all, I give her a solid five-star rating, with two additional thumbs up.  Great boat.

As for my dealings with Horizon Charter Yachts, all I can say is that they were extremely professional and competent.  Definitely my best experience ever with a bareboat company.  Emails were quickly replied to, information was given clearly and their manner was friendly and courteous throughout.  Here again, I cannot find fault at all.

All in all, a great week on a great boat, from a great company.  My sincerest thanks.  We’ll be back for sure.

COVID-19 update Make a booking